Robert Radamant’s Co

About the great big white world

computer stupidities – just awesome

Posted by robertradamantsco on June 29, 2010

here are some really funny answers and statements that computer users told tech. supporters or other poeple. it’s really unbelievable what people sometimes says. i, for myself, got just one thing to say: LOL

here are just some of this computer stupidities, the other you can see at http://www.rinkworks.com/stupid/cs_os.shtml

Operating Systems

Most computer users understand that you need an operating system to use a computer practically, even if it is not clear why. But many users don’t.

* Tech Support: “May I ask what operating system you are running today?”
* Customer: “A computer.”

* Tech Support: “What operating system do you run?”
* Customer: “Dial-up.”

A customer called in with modem problems.

  • Tech Support: “Ok, we’re going to check your modem settings. First thing we need to do is make sure all programs are closed.”
  • Customer: “How do I know if everything is closed?”
  • Me: “Make sure all windows are closed.”
  • Customer: “But…I’m in the basement. I don’t have any windows here.”

Lucky me, I made it to the the mute button in time!

* My Friend: “I just installed Windows 98.”
* Me: “Cool. But…it’s 2001. Why not Windows 2000 or wait for XP to come out?”
* My Friend: “Oh, 98 is more easily hacked, so I want it.”
* Me: “You want to get hacked?”
* My Friend: “Yes! Wouldn’t you?”
* Me: “No….”
* My Friend: “When you get hacked you get a lot of money! That’s a good thing!”
* Me: “???”

# “I heard about this thing called ‘Linux’.”
# Me: “Oh, I use Linux.”
# Friend: “What is it?”
# Me: “An operating system.”
# Friend: “Like Firefox?”

Friend: “Does Windows 98 support Linux?”

Customer: (angrily) “You said I would get 98 windows with this computer. Where are they?”

* Tech Support: “What version of Windows do you have installed?”
* Customer: “… Double glazed.”

For my work-study job, I work tech support at a small college. One night I was working Help Desk and the phone rings. I pick it up to have a student telling me she can’t get the computer to work.

  • Me: “What operating system are you running?”
  • Student: “Hunh?”
  • Me: “Do you have a Mac or a PC?”
  • Student: “Um, I don’t know.”
  • Me: “Ok. What does the screen look like?”
  • Student: “It’s yellow.”
  • Me: “Ok. What does it say on the computer CPU?”
  • Student: “What’s that?”
  • Me: “The big grey box.”
  • Student: “It doesn’t say anything.”
  • Me: “Never mind that…do you have a little ‘Start’ button at the bottom of the monitor?”
  • Student: “Monitor?”
  • Me: “The thing that looks like a TV sceen sitting on the grey box.”
  • Student: “Oh! That! No. No start button.”
  • Me: “Ok. Is there a little apple symbol anywhere on the screen?”
  • Student: (very puzzled) “Why would I have fruit on my computer?”
  • Customer: “I keep getting an error message whenever I try using the MSDOS mode in Windows 95.”
  • Tech Support: “Can you describe what happens?”
  • Customer: “Well, I keep getting a black screen with an error message saying, ‘C:\WINDOWS>’.”

Leave a Reply

 
